Proper Position Of Har-Bal In Mastering Chain???

Having problems using the greatest Visual Mastering software of the century? Use this area of the Forum to post your technical questions to Earle and Paavo regarding Har-Bal or ask questions regarding how to work on a certain area of the software? Post away!
the-bertman

Post by the-bertman »

Gentlemen. First let me congratulate you on a product that is revolutionizing a stale industry and is breathing life into lesser-knows like myself.

I'm an Indie Artist who's tackled all tasks on my CD's, including Mastering, thanks to you guys. After spending countless dollars and heeding bad advice from too many engineers, I decided to get off my butt and start carving some masters myself. You two are single-handedly responsible for taking a basement musician with a song-bank to the Commercial airwaves of the US! Yes I put in a lot of work but your product finally breathed a bit of fresh air into me and produced some results I could actually HEAR. It took my masters and gave them something that all Indies cherish - Playability! But enough about me......

I've read Earle's notes/tips/advice for some time now, and I'm puzzled at one particular area. In my mastering chain I put Har-Bal LAST. After EQ, Reverb, Multi-Band, Limiting. All articles I've read on your site seem to place Har-Bal after the mix and before the above-mentioned. I just can't seem to get a decent sounding result in this scenario. If I put it last I touch up some of the problem areas ( there usually aren't too many by this point ) but it does make a decent sounding master that plays well across systems. Being a rookie I realize that I'm probably doing something wrong, but my results are OK ( not Big Label but certainly good enough to get my music heard and save me a few bucks ).